Developing countries should be encouraged to implement high tariffs to grow their local industries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is frequently debated whether the governments of developing nations should increase taxes in order to save their local industries or if they treat both imported products and locally manufactured products in the same manner. I completely support the stance that authorities should subsidize the locally manufactured goods for growth, instead of levying extra duties on the alien goods. The primary justification for prioritizing subsidies into the locally manufactured products is to create a global economic possibility for the manufacturers and entrepreneurs. By providing an adequate amount of subsidies, the government can help businesses to flourish. Conversely, if authorities differentiate goods through adding tariffs to the imported goods, there is likely a high probability of losing international markets. For instance, if developing countries like Bangladesh and Nepal impose higher tariffs on products imported from the United Kingdom, the latter country can impose the same extra taxes or even higher to save its local market. Therefore, subsidies remained the best option for countries to enhance their local industries' growth. Building upon this argument, a further competing justification for maintaining the stance involves risk of losing investment from developed countries or giant businesses, such as Amazon, Paypal, Microsoft. International businesses need equal treatment for both products relating to country of origin or any other nation. However, if treated unequally and imposed extra duties, ultimately, international business owners will lose interest in doing further business. If all imported products have to face extra duties, the price will be higher compared to locally made products, and the investors and business owners will face losses. Ultimately, this will lead to less or no investment from developed countries. In conclusion, after thoroughly evaluating both dimensions of this complex issue, it is evident that to encourage growth of local industries, subsidy is the only alternative. To sum up, the long term economic benefits of providing subsidies remain far superior than levying additional duties.