Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays people are watching the same films, fashion, brands, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

Globalization is erasing borders and differences among the countries. The same content is displayed everywhere in the world. Moreover, rapid technological advancements made any information accessible. Although these changes in the world grow the countries closer regardless of the distance, borders and differences, I believe that it carries negative impacts like crisis in cultural identity and that far outweighs any possible advantage. Globalization opens up many positive prospects for developing countries, such as the opportunities to improve their economy with global trade. Nowadays, many countries are open for trading and good exchange. While this gives poorer countries an opportunity to get exposed to the global market and export their resources to drive investment, it also benefits the developed countries to import the needed goods. Moreover, in a closely integrated world developments happen at a very rapid rate. Knowledge becomes a tool that is very accessible across the world; as well as, experiences and skills are exchanged driving positive changes. On the other hand, differences are what makes countries and cultures unique.Erasing those differences may lead to the loss of your own cultural identity. When nations start forgetting their roots, they become very vulnerable and easily brainwashed by the stronger countries. Most of the information and advancements come from the West, and consequently, the whole world is being westernised right now. Therefore, it is important to preserve one’s cultural uniqueness to not be controlled by the world. In conclusion, on one hand, globalisation is impacting the world positively by bringing countries together and facilitating the exchange of knowledge and experiences. On the other hand, there is a risk that small, underdeveloped countries may fall to the influence of the west, and as a result lose their cultural identity.