Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

It has been observed that crime rates among youngsters have been rapidly increasing around the world. The causes of this situation seem to be focused on the carelessness of government officials and the general public and a number of solutions also appear to be possible. Perhaps the major factor behind the rise of crimes such as drug-dealing and cybercrime is the negligence and oftentimes support by the government itself. Such criminals have become harder to track down due to the backing they receive from powerful individuals. The origin of online crimes has also been associated with the public being less aware about technology in general. For instance, cybercrimes such as phishing, identity theft and cyber bullying are prevailing due to the netizens not being aware of these awful acts even existing and, as a result, such individuals tend to be easy targets for the offenders. Hence, it is mainly the lack of awareness and strictness that contribute to the increment of such offenses. Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be to increase the efficiency of existing security systems. Although the security budgets are under pressure these days, if the government took this step, it would greatly reduce the amounts of misdeeds being conducted. A second remedy might be to provide better training to the cyber police in terms of tracking down cyber criminals. An example can be seen in nations with highly efficient security systems and IT sectors as they experience lesser number of such evil practices. Therefore, the best way to solve such matters would be to increase the budget of security and cyber offense departments. In conclusion, the factors of carelessness and corruption appear to be the main causes. Better trained government officials driven by improved funding to these sectors may well lessen the severity of the situation.