While some think that art is an important subject for children too study, others think it is waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Art is a powerful way of expressing emotions, ideas, and experiences through paintings, sculptures, music, movies, plays, and poems. While some believe art is an important part of school curriculum as it teaches self-expression, others argue it is a waste of time. This essay discusses both perspectives and why I believe it is an essential subject as it instructs children to express their feelings and builds creativity. ​One of the primary reasons why many people favour art as a part of school curriculum is that children learn how to portray their ideas in a way that sometimes words cannot define. It is largely because, through art, people can unlock a whole new way of perceiving the world. A clear example of this can be seen in individuals with a natural eye for art as they can interpret any form of artwork with a perspective different from the general public. Therefore, it is evident that fine art can make young people keen observers and expressionists. ​ Although it is true that artwork builds creativity among young learners, critics argue that it is a waste of time. A key factor behind this view is that not everyone is naturally artistic. Art can be particularly pointless for the public which has no interest in the various interpretations of an artistic piece, or maybe the whole idea of art itself. Such a situation can be observed in the case of students who are more fascinated by engineering, or mechanical systems; abstract concepts such as art may feel impractical to such individuals. Hence, people who find solace in more practical things may find art as meaningless. ​In conclusion, art is a powerful form of self-expression for naturally artistic individuals, whereas other people may think of it being impractical. Overall, despite the topic being highly debatable, art benefits individuals by serving as an outlet for emotional expression and stress relief.