Some people argue that governments should make laws regarding people's nutrition and food choices to improve public health while others contend that this is the freedom of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that nutrition and food choices of the public should be controlled by the government in order to improvise their health, however, others believe that the state should not interfere with the meal choices of individuals. The state by making laws on nutitions can save financial resources that were to allocate in curing the sick people, whereas, people carry the right to live and have the right to decide their own intakes. Healthcare consumes a significant portion of government expenditure. A large share of this funding is spent on treating people suffering from diet-related illnesses such as diabetes, obesity, and thyroid disorders. For example, the Indian government spends millions of dollars each year on subsidizing medications and healthcare services for patients with chronic diseases. These financial resources could instead be invested in other important sectors, such as education and infrastructure. Therefore, supporters of government intervention argue that regulating people's dietary habits could reduce the prevalence of such diseases and lower public healthcare costs. There should be free will for the people to decide themselves what food they intend to intake. There may be circumstances where some people are careful in taking high calories intake, but they also do physical activities to maintain their health. For such people, it would be disastrous to have their meals restricted by the state. Additionally, there are more efficient ways to handle the healthcare rather than restricting the dietary plans of the individuals. There may be circumstances under which the state will spend even more in making analysis of the food plans of the public than on medical sector. Therefore, I would suggest that people should have the freedom of choice in making such decisions. In conclusion, although it is the duty of the government to take care of its monetary sector by controlling the sectors such as food consumption of people which put an adverse effect on the healthcare, it also has to choose a minimal impairment method of doing it by not controlling what people consume but rather focus on what can be controlled efficiently.