The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, many people argue that employees should work fewer days and enjoy longer weekends. I totally agree with this statement and workers must have shorter working week to increase productivity. This essay will provide supportive reasons for my point of view. Firstly, reducing working days can positively affect employees’ physical and mental health. Recently work environments are often stressful and require workers to spend long hours completing tasks and meeting deadlines. As a result, many people experience lack of overall energy and have little time for rest or family life. For example, a father who is busy at work for 12 hours 5 days a week loses concentration on his own children. While a longer weekend would allow workers to drop down stress, recover, moreover, spend more time with their families. That means, workers with relaxed minds spend enough time at home and provide quality time with families. Secondly, shortening working week will lead to increase productivity rather than reducing it. While employees are less tired, they deliver better focus on completing their work with high efficiency performance. Some companies that implemented a shorter working plan reported even better performance compared to longer hours. For instance, a worker who is with high value raw material, such as diamond diggers, will have higher concentration digging and reaching for diamond during his first working hours, whereas it will decrease in the remaining hours. Thus, swapping the exhausted workers with another fresh one will keep the operation’s performance running on higher performance. In conclusion, I believe that workers should have a shorter working week and a longer weekend because this can improve health, create a better work –life balance, and increase productivity.