It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is often argued that it is necessary for children to get knowledge about differenciating right and wrong.In most societies it is also a social norm to punish them in order to teach them lesson for not complying during this method of upbringing by educators and parents. I somewhat agree with it. In many cultures, children especially teenagers face different sorts of punishment in pursuite of beneficial education.I have personally observed this system to work.These physically and mentally correcting methods have been used for a number of centuries. For instance,in Pakistan students are forced to stand in a certain exhausting position for fighting in classroom or bullying other students.These kind of teenagers are also beaten up by teachers with a wooden stick. As a result their behavior improves and they become well mannered.Another example is grounding them as a punishment for their ill behavior. This has also given us evidence of making hard choices to correct them. But in some countries kids are often beaten up or punished to an extent that they often become desensitized and it becomes just a routine for them. Then at a certain point they become careless and these troubles don't even bother them a little. As a result they become mentally ready to face any punishment or torture for crimes they commit in their adulthood.Parents and teachers also lose respect in the eyes of these children. In conclusion, punishments and other methods of collections should be used in a controlled and mannered way. For example,restricting them of their sources of entertainment(mobiles,laptops,etc),not letting them to indulge with their friends who teach them these wrong things and most importantly to sit down with them and have discussion about their thought process after they misbehave. But, physical abuse should be strictly prohibited for children of all ages to make their upcoming days less terrible.