Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Some individuals pose the argument that every form of experimentation subjected on animals should be prohibited by law. On the other hand, other individuals recognize that significant advances and innovations in the scientific field can be accomplished by experimenting on animals. Although it is understandable why someone would be against animal experimentation, for example due to the belief that it is cruel, I believe that it is necessary and can be justified with some important caveats. Animal experimentation brings about benefits to us as a society due to a plethora of reasons, mainly relating to health and science. Take for example a scenario where a new drug has been developed, and is hypothesized to cure a certain type of cancer. For us humans to be able to consume this drug and reap its benefits, we must first and foremost ensure that it has a good enough safety profile. This is where animal experimentation comes in and plays an important part in the process. The said drug can be administered to a laboratory animal, such as a rat, which is subsequently monitored for overall effects, adverse reactions, and clinical outcomes. Thus, the animal in this experiment has served as a way to mitigate the risk of human harm in the process of developing this cancer-curing drug, which is a solid enough of a reason to justify the use of animal experimentation. Unfortunately, as of right now, there is a lack of substitutes for animals when it comes to experimentation. Taking the previous example of a new drug being developed, one of the most crucial points that clinicians require is the predictability of the drug. And, In order for the predictability of the drug to be established, it has to exist in a system which resembles that of a human body. To fullfill that requirement, the easiest, most accessible and most accurate way is to use an animal. Therefore, animals, particularly mammals, are currently an irreplaceable asset when it comes to experimentation. Overall, animal experimentation is pretty well justified given the demand for continous research and innovation all across the board, but also particularly in the pharmaceutical industry. As for alternatives, unless an artificial system mirroring the system of a human body with all its intricacies is developed, there are no viable options for the foreseeable future.