Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental degradation has led to people holding the opinion that we will eventually need to find another planet. Whilst there are many environmental problems on Earth, I do not agree with this statement. Instead we should focus on improving how habitable our home is. Firstly, the cost associated with discovering another planet is extremely high. For example, the financial outlay on research and construction of capable spacecraft would be immense. An equivalent investment could be put into areas such as transport infrastructure. This would reduce the amount of vehicles on the roads, lowering emissions hence improving the quality of the environment. In addition to this, there are also huge logistical challenges associated with relocating all humans to another planet. Key issues with a mass exodus of Earth are: transport, accommodation and food. The extensive requirements would be incredibly difficult to achieve. The new planet may also be subject to the same problems as Earth over time. Directing efforts towards mitigating environmental damage on this planet would be a more fruitful endeavour. It is clear to see that the Earth has been damaged. Corporations have exploited many of the scarce resources we have, namely Lithium and Coal. Also, with a growing population comes growing demands that Earth may not be equipped to meet. This means that we may reach a time where we need to inhabit another planet to survive. Overall, it is clear to see that there are many challenges associated with finding another planet. The issues are from a logistical perspective and due to the investment required. Although, there are concerns around long-term availability of natural resources. I think it is important to acknowledge the need to protect Earth and stop all of its materials from being used. I firmly believe we should remain on this planet and improve the environmental problems we have here rather than running from them.