The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. do the advantages of using social media for communicationn outweigh the disadvantages

Social media platforms have completely changed the means of communication we use on a daily basis as a population. The advantages far outweigh the disadvatages, as we are able to make more connections in a faster means than ever before in this day and age. Firstly, social media gives us more opportunities than ever to connect with other humans. Before the age of the internet, most people met locally through college, mutual friends, etc. Currently, individuals from different ends of the planet, or even just a few cities away, are all able to communicate with one another. For example, Tinder is a popular dating app that has led to many couples meeting. These couples would've never been able to connect before it's invention. Another advantage of these social media platforms, is the speed that messages are able to be sent, delivered, and received. Before the age of the internet, one could only call or send a letter if they wanted to pass on a message. Nowadays, someone can leave a note at an instant's notice, without having to disturb the other person, while still getting their message across. Commonly, in the past, people would call one another and set a time, date, and place where they would meet. If any unforseen circumstances occured, they would have no way to notify the other person. With social media, such problems can be avoided and corrected at near instant speed. I believe that these advantages outweigh the disadvantages that come with the popularization of social media. However, social media does not come without it's disadvantages either. One important problem that arises with the use of these websites, is increased access to victims for scammers who want to trick unsuspecting users. Many fake accounts are made impersonating celebrities on social media sites, which are subsquently used to try and scam people out of their hard earned money. A common location for this practice is Facebook, where older people, who are more vulnerable to these scams, are commonly tricked by fake accounts. Another issue that social media sites may cause, is the issue of cyber-bullying. Users can message people, who they may not even know, negative comments, and cause them psychological stress. This is frequently seen on Instagram comments of celebrities, where commenters will leave nasty remarks to creators, without facing consequences for their actions. When the celebrity reads these comments, they can be negatively affected by people who would never be able to send those messages before the existence of social media. In conclusion, the speed and ease of access social media offers, provides both positive and negative effects. Overall though, it allows more humans than ever to be able to make meaningful connections. These bonds would never be able to exist without social media's creation.