In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many elderly people in Britain tend to live in old age homes when they grow old. Some people argue that the government has to pay for their needs, while others believe that it is the responsibility of their families. In my opinion, families should bear the expenses because it is their duty to look after their elderly parents. To begin with, parents are the responsibility of their children because they worked hard throughout their lives to take care of the needs of their children. Therefore, it is the duty of every family to bear the expenses of their old parents when they decide to live in the old age homes. In this way, a child can pay back to their mother and father for all the efforts they have done for them throughout their lives. For example, many young people feel proud to spend on their parents when they are old and cannot pay for their own expenses. Secondly, if the government starts paying for the elderly people, many individuals may get dependent on the government for their expenses. Moreover, some young individuals may deliberately want their old parents to go to old age homes so that they do not have to look after or spend money on them. For instance, in many countries, young individuals want freedom, thus they force their parents to live in a home with other old people. To sum up, I believe the government should not pay for the care of elderly people, rather it should solely be the responsibility of their families to bear their expenses. This will ensure that they do not get dependent on the government and become more responsible.