Environmental problems such as climate change and pollution affect everyone around the world. Although efforts to tackle these problems are made on a global-scale, few solutions can be found. Why are so few solutions taken? How can these problems be solved?

While environment has been confronted with serious problems that requires people to handle immediately, many human attempts are likely to be superficial. This phenomenon stems from the soaring population as well as over-relying on non-renewable sources. Personally, I contend that both government and individuals must take a personal stake in tackling environmental problems. One primary reason for this problem is steep extending in overall population. Due to creating more livable condition, the birth rate has soared in recent years, even leads to the myriad of over-crowed cities on over the world. Therefore, beside the number of citizens, the overconsumption laterally increase the waste pollution which adversely effects the environment. For example, according to one report, the United States has produced 42 million metric tons of plastic waste by 2021 that takes an alert into account to government and citizens about minimizing consumption and waste pollution. Moreover, facilitating the industrial era is likely to come at expense of compromising the environment. Nowadays, non-renewable resources still play a pivotal role in manufacturing and require the colossal number of supplications. Unfortunately, these resources are limited and the industrial activities can significantly release emission which contributes to environmental problems. As a result, although government has conducted many solutions to handle this development, the demands of society have hindered the efficiency. To combat this development, personally, I strongly believe that this is not only the government’s matter, but also each individuals’ one. In the government’s side, they have to fiercely enforce initiatives to diminish the over reliance on fossil fuel and incentivize businesses to adopt cleaner resources. For instance, Costa Rica has generated the vast majority of electricity from renewable sources for many years. Its success demonstrates that alternative energy can reliable meet national demand without compromising the environment. In the individuals’ side, I think that each of citizens have to raise their awareness of environmental issues in order to take a personal stake in protecting the environment. For example, they can changing their habits of using plastic productions or cutting down an amount of electricity. Although it is just the simplest and smallest thing, but it will be cumulatively effective if we do it daily. In conclusion, due to the elevation of population and the demands for the industrial activities, many environmental solutions has been inhibited. However, I believe that we can tackle this problem with the cooperation between authorities and individuals in order to make a comprehensive solution to enhance the environment and our living condition.