In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In modern times, students have more options to study abroad, compared to older times, where they tended to choose universities local to them. This development has allowed people to pursue the highest level of education possible, but comes at the cost of their home nation losing highly educated young adults. Firstly, the globalization of university studies gives students the opportunity to attend the most renowned institutions in the world, no matter where they are born. For example, a Polish person pursuing a career in medicine, now is able to study at Oxford instead of the Medical University of Warsaw. If they complete their degree at Oxford, many more doors will open for them, compared to studying at their local institution. This example illustrates how this change may benefit one's career prospects, and may allow them to achieve better success than they ever could, studying in their own nation. However, many less populated countries suffer due to their inhabitants preferring to pursue their education abroad. For instance, Greece has over 500,000 citizens living abroad, who pursued higher education. This imbalance, causes small nations like Greece to have shortages of doctors, lawyers, etc. Meanwhile, nations like the United Kingdom or the United States of America, have a surplus of such skilled workers, due to foreign students opting to stay for better work opportunities. Thus, many countries are negatively affected, while few countries benefit from this change. In conclusion, on the individual level, studying outside of one's home nation may offer many benefits, but on the national level, more countries are harmed, while few countries are positively affected.