Cars have become a convenient and economical form of transport and as a result, the use of cars has increased dramatically during the last century. Discuss the problems this increase has created, and offer some practical solutions.

In this contemporary world, there is an increasing number of people utilising personal cars for their daily travel as they are convenient and affordable. In this essay we will discuss about the significant issues this trend has caused and possible ways to solve those problems. One of the long term consequences of mass population owning vehicles is that they increase carbon emission, which contribute in global warming. When individuals opt for private form of transport, they produce harmful gasses into the environment and pollute our planet. For example, cities where the public services for travelling are not developed, citizens living there often have to use their own cars, which impact the surrounding and their health. On the other hand, these issues can be solved if the government invest their large portion of budget for the development of public transportation such as trains, trams, and buses. The authorities should make these travel services accessible, affordable, and convenient because this will motivate everyone to take bus when travelling to their work or anywhere they desire. For instance, Melbourne has implemented a policy for free trams inside the city, which allows individuals to use those facilities given by the government and save their money. Consequently, this has not only dropped the number of private vehicles in the city, but also improved the quality of air. To conclude, it is true that number of individuals owning personal vehicles have dramatically rised in recent years, becoming the leading cause of global warming and pollution, however, if the concern authorities prioritise investment on public buses, trains, and other form of transport this issue will be resolved.