In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In society's future all vehicles will only contain passengers without the need for a human driver. I strongly believe the disadvantages caused by autonomous cars heavily outweigh the advantages of this phenomenon. Some individuals might argue that driverless vehicles are extremely convenient. This is true to the extent of providing comfort to those who do not enjoy driving themselves. However, it is crucial to consider that a large proportion of the population prefers controlling a car on their own due to reasons such as a lack of trust in advanced technology or the simple satisfaction in the act of driving itself. For instance, individuals who take pleasure in going for long car rides in order to find peace will be forced to seek alternative ways to entertain themselves. Consequently, a complete future shift to strictly autonomous cars could result in a great dissatisfaction among the masses. While it is undeniable that public transportation companies would benefit greatly from not having to allocate funds towards paying a salary to drivers, it is crucial to recognize that the complete lack of demand for drivers in the employment market could have an adverse effect on a large portion of the population. Many individuals working in the transportation industry will lose a stable source of income and will no longer be able to financially support their families. As a result, this shift will cause a major decline in the global economy and leave many people unemployed. In conclusion, the negative impact of strictly driverless vehicles on society's future is significantly greater than the positive one. This technological advancement will result in a harmful impact on various portions of the population such as humans who prefer steering the wheel themselves and people who rely on a transportation-related income.