In recent years, the amount of household waste produced by people has increased significantly. What are the main causes of this problem, and what solutions can be suggested to reduce household waste?

In this modern era, household waste produced by people is increasing at an alarming rate. This essay will discuss the primary causes for this trend and propose several practical solutions to mitigate this problem. To begin with, there are compelling reasons why waste production in households is increasing day by day. Firstly, modernisation is a prime reason for this trend because modern lifestyles encourage people to engage in impulsive shopping, along with an unrealistic list of personal and professional demands. This is not only expensive and time-consuming, but also contributes to an increase in theproduction of household waste. For example, in many countries, it is seen that the percentage of shopping has increased equally when compared to the waste production in the household. Consequently, people tend to produce more waste at home when they buy unnecessary things from the market. Moreover,the trend of repairing objects is vanishing at an alarming rate. Due to modernisation, people believe that repair is an old-fashioned method of using an object for a longer period of time. However, this traditional method of repairing things has saved money and household waste production for many years. Although repair is a better option than replacement, it is still outdated and is becoming one of the prime reasons for increased production of household waste. On the other hand, there are numerous solutions to mitigate this problem. First and foremost, thegovernment should enforce stricter rules and regulations to minimise household waste production. The government should fix a limit on daily waste production for each household, along with a fine imposition on the people who cross that limit. Nevertheless, the schools and the society should together encourage people for recycling. Repairing should also be encouraged by the government, which could eventually lower the shopping rates and further household waste production. To conclude, modernisation is one of the prime reasons for excessive household waste production. However, mutual efforts by the government and society can easily mitigate this problem.