Today food often travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only ate food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's fast-paced world, local suppliers are superior to international producers for economic and environmental reasons. While it has some upsides, the downsides can be far greater than these benefits because international suppliers have some standards that are significant for human health, and they label their products, which show packaging date and expiration date. On the one hand, one of the advantages of preferring local suppliers is that these producers operate locally, which means that they don't have a long distance food supply chain, leading them to consume less diesel energy. This is because they transport their products to local stores which are located close to their farms. As a result, these farmers ' transportation requires less energy due to shorter distances compared to international farmers, which are the main contributors to environmental issues because of long distance hauling. For instance, international food suppliers have a significant number of ships which consume an enormous amount of diesel to transport their product to another country, which demonstrates that widespread reliance on fossil fuel in food transportation is detrimental to the environment. Therefore, consuming local products would have a great impact on reducing diesel consumption. On the other hand, one of the disadvantages of consuming food produced by local farmers is that these products are questionable in terms of their packaging and expiration dates. The reason for this is that local farmers don't have any standards for their products, and they are independent producers which means that they are not scrutinized by inspectors. As a result, consumers are not able to identify that this food is edible after they have purchased it. To illustrate, the local apple farms draw many food -lovers' attention from across the world in Quebec where a significant number of people go to these farms and collect delicious apples; however, consumers have faced several health issues after eating rotten apples because they don't have any clue when the expiration date is. Thus, this drawback is a serious problem for health. In conclusion, although local products have some advantages, such as helping reduce diesel consumption which is a major contributor to environmental issues, I firmly maintain that the drawbacks, such as health problems which are sparked by lack of labelling of important days, have irreversible impacts on people's lives. Consequently, these drawbacks outweigh the benefits.