University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweight the disadvantages?

The trend of applying to and studying at foreign universities continues to grow rapidly among school graduates. Although foreign universities provide higher-quality education, the difference in mindset, culture and language barriers among international students is noticeable. Despite some possible struggles during the study period, I believe that advantages strongly outweigh disadvantages. On the one hand, while studying abroad students receive a better education than in their homeland. Most of the top universities are located in the USA, Canada, and the UK. Moreover, the professors in top universities are more experienced and are able to share their own knowledge. For example, my close school friend finished his first year studying in Kyrgyzstan and then continued studying in an IVY league university. He noticed a strong difference between an academic approach at the two universities. However, there are a number of drawbacks during the study in an unfamiliar country. One of the most common challenges among international students is a totally different mentality and culture. For instance, when I was studying one academic year in the USA with the FLEX program, I faced a lot of problems connected with culture shock and even language boundaries. One such case was when American people knew that there is horse meat commonly eaten in our traditional food. Also, I could not joke as well as in my native language with my international friends. Due to such issues as language boundaries and different points of view, it is difficult for people to get used to the new study country. In conclusion, although studying at foreign universities can be challenging due to cultural differences and language barriers, the opportunity to receive a high-quality education and develop valuable skills makes it a worthwhile experience. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of studying abroad clearly outweigh the disadvantages.