Some people believe that universities should only offer practical courses that directly prepare students for future employment. Others argue that the primary purpose of higher education should be to provide a broad range of knowledge, regardless of whether it is useful for a career.Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nobody would dispute the fact that entering university is for knowledge and employment opportunities. However, people are arguing whether universities should only offer job-related courses or a wide range of knowledge for learners. I hold the view that they should not only provide limited courses just for career paths, and in this essay, I will discuss both sides and give reasons for my opinion. However, there are those who argue that universities should only provide practical courses for employment opportunities. For example, nobody would contest the fact that if institutions only offer courses for job opportunities, students are more likely to get a stable career and a better living condition. Besides that, the economy will be boosted because of the decrease in the unemployment rate. On the other hand, there is no doubt that knowledge is not only for job opportunities, because learners should have the right to learn what they need and what they love. For instance, when people learn about knowledge with passion, they might become intellectuals whose knowledge would help the government to boost the economy. Secondly, if universities only offer job-related courses, students may lack soft skills. Hence, if they are working in a company without soft skills, it is likely that they will find it hard to survive in this kind of environment. Finally, I believe that knowledge should not be used as a tool for making money instead of expanding people’s life experiences. In conclusion, although there are some reasonable arguments supporting career-oriented education, there is no doubt that the advantages of a wide range of knowledge are essential for students, both for their life and work experiences. Learning broad knowledge should not be used as an excuse to cut down courses in universities.