In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Many cultures teach children by explaining the impacts of ambition and trying hard in order to be achieved in life. While this message might motivate them and possess great determination or it can even create unrealistic expectations. In the following paragraphs, both pros and cons will be discussed in detail, before reaching the conclusion. On the one hand, one concern is that children are likely to think that everything is achievable despite being realistic and considering different circumstances. This could lead to disappointment for not achieving the particular goals that were expected by the family or other people. Additionally, children may confront stressfulness and burnout. Moreover, It is essential to recognize that life has various paths for everyone and we are not meant to get everything that we put a lot of effort into. To illustrate this, people follow diverse directions and reach goals at various times, influenced by myriad factors such as background, resources, and life experiences. On the other hand, the most significant benefit is that kids can build a strong positive attitude of “Grit”. These words combine two important things, which are passion and perseverance for long-term achievements, working physically and mentally hard to make the future a reality. For instance, the Chinese education system requires students to be highly disciplined and academically competitive. students that are more determined and resilient turn out to be more successful than the others. Moreover, achieving certain aims could spark a rise in self-confidence, besides enormous motivation were conducted since the success of the last attempt making kids assured in themselves and would like to do it once again. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo's early success after years of intensive training strengthened his confidence and motivated him to continue improving, eventually becoming one of the greatest football players in history. In conclusion, when teaching children that effort is essential for achieving aspirations can foster hard work and determination, it is also important to recognize the limitations on this belief. Children should be encouraged to make a great effort, but they should also be taught to understand that failure is a part of life and that success is not always guaranteed, even with maximum dedication. Balancing this message is crucial for their overall well-being and development.