Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some commonly believe that the only effective method to make the internet safe is for the government to detect the content of websites since the internet is bombarded with loads of detrimental and graphic content. In my opinion, an individual needs to take responsibility for what to consume on the internet. With the increased number of internet users, many raise concerns about how the information on websites can be detrimental to every person’s well-being, physically and mentally. However, I believe that the internet is the only world that does not have territory and boundaries; therefore, we, the public, should not give the autonomy we have on the internet to the government. Moreover, the advantageous information and networks offered by the net will be limited if we do so. Furthermore, it is too naive to consider whether the government can control and supervise such pervasive websites. China’s government is a case in point for this issue. China’s government imposed laws to ban some social media platforms, such as Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, from its community without success. Some experts in technology firms develop some apps to crack the websites being curbed for use. Accordingly, everybody should take responsibility for making informed decisions by doing their own research. In conclusion, although the government is thought to take a step in deciding which websites to allow in the country by carefully examining their contents, I think it will be more logical to give every individual their own autonomy in which ones to use.