Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

In digital age, there are countless resources of movie and opera online. Hence, whether the theatres and cinemas are still important is discussed. One states that they are not important because the development of the archive on internet, others claims that the culture and economy are affected significantly by them. It is reasonable that the theatres and cinemas are not as important as before. In the past, when the internet has not been developed, going to cinemas or theatres was the popular and cost effective way for people to enjoy the movie and opera, while the CDs or the disks and the devices playing them were all expensive for common people, so they were the main entertainment activity at that time. However, nowadays, people could obtain relevant resources through various way on internet, including buying a premium membership on platform such as Netflix. In this case, members could visit resources unlimitedly with a comparatively lower prices than going to theatres and cinemas. In addition, it is convenient for users to watch the videos whenever and wherever they want with their mobile device, which is more flexible than the theatres and cinemas. Therefore, it has to be admitted that the theatres and cinemas are not so important today, because there are so many alternatives at this time. However, the contribution of cinemas and theatres for economy and culture can not be neglected as well. The cinemas are still popular places for people to hang out. The family may hang out together at leisure time, having fun in the city, and watching the movie together in the cinemas is a good choice for them to spend the time, rather than staying at home. In this way, the cinemas could not only offer more alternatives for community entertainment, but also bring job opportunity and income to the workers. Also, so do theatres contribute the economy, what’s more, they pass down the opera culture. Opera has a long history dating back to thousand years ago, with various genres and skills, and almost every country has their own special opera culture. Overall, the opera performance in theatres let more people learn about this cultural treasure, which is meaningful for its promotion and protection. In my opinion, though the cinemas and theatres are not so important as before, they still burden the responsibility in economy and culture. People can enjoy the movies on the advanced TV in their home, or watch a spectacular opera, surprised by the human nature and spirits in the theatres. Cinemas and theatres are not contradicted to modern society since they are the components of it, developing with society together to the future. In conclusion, it would be overly simplistic to consider whether they are important today. What needs to be focus is that how they corporate with the modern era.