Research shows that business meetings, discussions and trainings are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, advanced technology has changed the way people connect with each other and how they attend meetings or training. While it has some downsides, the benefits of holding events online, such as ensuring considerable time saving and reducing carbon emissions, can be far greater than the drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, the online has become a fundamental pillar of people's daily lives. Increasingly, they can manage their business, allowing them to work from home. This opportunity is beneficial for their lives because they do not have to go to work place, which takes an excessive amount of time due to traffic congestion. As a result, they can save a lot of time, and enjoy their free time instead of commuting to their jobs. For instance, after COVID-19, companies have become more flexible, and they provide options for their employees, allowing them to work from home or in a hybrid. Moreover, a reduction in the number of people who do not have to go to offices leads to a decrease in the usage of private cars and public transport. As a result, these consequences lead to a decrease in carbon emissions, which are released from these vehicles. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks of attending online events is that it eradicates in-person interaction among individuals. As people prefer chatting with their friends, they lose the ability of communication, which plays an important role in understanding each other well. This is because while they are interacting with each other in person, they can feel true feelings of their friends or colleagues by seeing their mimics, gestures and eyes. They are the indicators of feelings and thoughts behind the words, which can convey more meaning. To illustrate, a couple who spend more time together can demonstrate a higher understanding of each other from their behaviours than another couple who prefer texting instead of in-person interactions. Thus, the online has a detrimental effect on people's communication and relationships. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of managing business and attending online events, I firmly maintain that the advantages of online outweigh the downsides because people can save considerable time, which allows them to work in many ways. In addition, it leads to a decrease in public transport and private car usage, allowing reducing carbon emissions.