In many countries, parents put a large amount of pressure on their children to achieve high grades at school, leaving very little to no time for them to take part in leisure activities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many parents around the globe push their children to get higher scores at school, not allowing them enough time for hobbies or fun activities. This approach might seem to yield many benefits, but it also has unavoidable drawbacks. In this essay I will discuss both, the advantages and the disadvantages of parents not giving children enough space in their day to practice activities other than studying. It is true that the more students pay attention to their education, the better grades they will achieve and that opens the door to better opportunities for them in the future. Not only that, but also children that focus on their academic progress tend to develop discipline and a better sense of responsibility. Dedicating the larger portion of their day to studying may aid in developing serious and more productive society members. Thus, those with higher school scores can secure jobs easier and faster. One of the major negative implications of this is children who are not allowed sufficient time to do fun things other than studying usually suffer with personality issues, such as self-confidence and identity loss. That is because they were deprived of discovering themselves through different leisure activities, so they are uncertain of what they can or can not do. In addition, these individuals will turn into people that do not know what they like or what they want to do in life due to the lack of experience of other fields that they did not study at school. Another drawback is the limited social circle, as they will have very few friends if any. As a consequence, they grow up to have problems fitting-in in the community as they lack particular social skills. In conclusion, children are encouraged to spend reasonable amount of their time studying to maintain good academic record and have better chances in the future. However, spending some time on extracurricular activities after school is also important for a healthy personal development.