Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. There is an ongoing debate about movies and computer games containing violence, with some arguing that they can pose a detrimental threat to society and should be censored, while others believe that they just have a negative impact on their relaxation. However, I firmly believe that such movies and computer games can lead to both social and personal problems. Supporters of the negative effects of violent movies and computer games claim that they encourage poor behaviours, particularly among young people, because most of them cannot distinguish the beneficial and harmful consequences of such habits, which can increase the risks of poor decisions and crime in society. Moreover, they can give rise to serious mental health challenges such as stress and depression, placing a burden on healthcare systems and reducing the overall well-being in society. For instance, open-world games such as GTA expose children to various crimes and sexual content, which can negatively affect their mental health and increase the likelihood of crime in societies, especially developing ones. Hence, violent movies and computer games can play a crucial role in emerging various social problems. On the other hand, critics argue that violent movies and computer games only influence individuals' tranquillity. They leave individuals with limited time and energy to participate in various outdoor activities, such as exploring nature, spending quality time with their friends and family, and socializing. A lack of these activities can contribute significantly to experiencing stress, which has a detrimental impact on relationships and mental health. As a result, people may experience loneliness and depression. For example, children who spend an excessive amount of time playing violent video games often struggle with serious health issues such as stress and obesity and have weak relationships, which contributes significantly to personal challenges and poor essential life skills. Thus, such movies and video games can hinder individuals' personal development while damaging their overall well-being. To sum up, from my perspective, although violent video games and films can negatively impact people's mental health, they can also bring about social issues. Therefore, governments and parents should restrict such movies and computer games to protect young people and society from growing crimes and health problems.