Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A modern tourist tends to spend vacations not-typically. Places with extraordinary nature, unusual weather conditions and even high crime activity are in demand. A person who decided to choose that kind of adventure usually faces a list of advantages and disadvantages during the trip.  On the one hand, such experiences prove to visitors that they are capable of overcoming difficulties, which could significantly increase one’s confidence. For instance, some psychologists advise their patients who lack confidence to complete a pilgrim’s path between Spain and Portugal. One of the paths is a 300km road with picturesque views along the ocean. Pilgrims usually walk around 30km per day, despite the fatigue and starvation. Completing such journey promises to be tremendously rewarding. On the other hand, potential visitors often underestimate the danger behind the adventure, which could lead to traumatic or even lethal circumstances. For example, the destiny of extremals, who decide to climb the Everest without an appropriate preparation and equipment, is terribly unpleasant. Another vivid case was in Mexico when a tourist decided to explore a wild beach on their own at night and was eaten by an alligator, because he could not see the captions “danger’’ and “stop’’.  In conclusion, there are some upsides and downsides of unusual travelling. The key to enjoy its benefits is to be conscious, complete a research and prepare yourself for the worst scenario in advance.