Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, while some companies require their employees to dress appropriately at the office, others believe that the effectiveness of work is more crucial than their employees' appearance. From my point of view, I agree with the latter, and the following essay is going to give some reasons to strengthen my opinion. On the one hand, wearing appropriate clothes while working helps organisations create an impressive and trustworthy image with their partners and customers. This is because with suitable clothing, customers and partners will have a good impression of their reliability and responsibility and feel respected. For example, customers, especially those who operate in the government sector, usually prefer collaborating with firms whose staff dress properly to those who choose informal clothes. On the other hand, the main target of business is effectiveness and profitability, thus they will prioritise performance. Simply put, when employees can choose what to wear, they may feel more comfortable, leading to an improvement in their performance. For instance, in the information technology department, engineers who are responsible for technical jobs tend to wear casual clothes because they may perform best when their clothing is comfortable. However, staff's choice of fashion should conform to the company's regulations. In conclusion, dressing smartly is indeed important for firms; nevertheless, the main objective of organisations should be the ability to create profit. I support the latter because work performance will be the main factor to drive a firm towards its financial goals, instead of its staff's choice of fashion.