With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened to get more resources? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that whether unspoiled regions should of the Earth should be opened for resource extraction because international demand for energy is surging. This essay strongly disagrees with this statement because exploiting pristine habitats cause irreparable damage to our ecosystems and pushes the global warming to its peak. Unexplored regions of the planet should not be used for increasing demand in fossil fuels because it will cause ecological degradation on a global scale. The reason is the fact that in order to get to those resources, pristine nature around the resource extraction area has to be completely wiped out, creating a convenient environment for workers to install their equipment for exploitation. As a result, many rare habitats get destroyed and it drives endangered species to extinction. For example, despite the resistance of many individuals, construction of roads, pipelines and drilling platforms devastatingly fragmented the rainforest also known as “Yasuni National Park”, which is one of the Earth’s untouched areas, causing severe damage to wildlife. Another reason why virgin territories should remain untouched is the fact that it surges the global temperature to its highs. The main reason is that it causes the climate to change dramatically by releasing a massive amount of carbon stored in soil and forests, making them unable to absorb more carbon dioxide from air to reduce the temperature. This accelerates the global temperature rises and causes extreme weather conditions. For instance, the temperature in the mega cities are much higher compared to countrysides because rural areas have more natural landscapes than urban areas, causing a temperature to be much lower in comparison. In conclusion, despite the growing consumption of fossil fuels, virgin territories must remain protected, as exploiting this delicate environments inflicts irreversible damage and severely accelerates global climate change.