Some people think that universities should focus more on providing students with skills for the job market. Others believe that the true role of higher education is to provide knowledge for its own sake regardless of its usefulness to employers. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, universities play a crucial role in helping students gain knowledge and develop the skills needed for the job market. A number of individuals believe that higher education institutions should help students more with workplace readiness, while others think education is more than getting a job, however I stand with the second statement because knowledge encourages innovations and critical thinking.

On the one hand, allowing academic institutions to concentrate mainly on workplace readiness can help people to find a job after graduation easily within a short period. That is to say that students will just focus on specific skills, which firms require from them. For example, many oil companies such as MB require practical experience and vocational training, which universities should provide for their students. Moreover, when students have a clear focus on their future careers, they are more likely to improve their academic performance and achieve better results.

On the other hand, many other people believe that universities should also focus on improving knowledge with pupils. Vast knowledge can help students to build critical thinking skills. Furthermore, knowledge encourages students to think clearly, and also generates impressive ideas in several spects in their lives. For instance, students who studied various subjects at universities tend to be more successful in their lives, because they gained more experience during their studies

In conclusion, I believe higher education institutions should primarily prepare students for employment and avoid useless information, but they should also provide academic kowledage both of which are essential for long-term success.