In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays in UK, when a person gets old they decide to live in a nursing house with other old people like them where there are nurses who look after them. Usually the government has to pay for their care. In my opinion, the one who has to pay at least a part for this care is the government because it is a social responsibility and not every family can afford expensive service. Firstly, it is very important for families to look after their elderly. People do everything to support their children so after years it becomes their duty to take care of them. However, not every family has the time and money to support the elderly. In this case, the government should help with everything they can. For example, there are many families with a lot of children where the parents do not have enough money to help their grand-parents so the government should do their best to help them. Secondly, many people through their life time pay taxes and even work for the government. They should be treated right when they can no longer take care of themselves. Nursing houses can be very expensive even for ordinary people. At an old age it is hard to provide a necessary amount of money even if they worked all their life. Therefore, the government needs to pay for the nursing house when there is no other option. For instance, people who helped the country and saved other peoples life should be supported then they no longer can. In conclusion, although families should support their elderly relatives with everything they can, I believe, the government should pay for their care in a nursing home because everybody deserves better opportunities and be treated the right way.