Some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them to do work for the local community. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

We all make mistakes but there is a difference between intentional and unintentional ones. For decreasing the number of people with bad intentions, countries prefer to imprison them for a period. From my perspective, there are different solutions for various cases. Working for the local community or paying a fine can represent some of this punishments used for minor crimes. Firstly, humans have developed an instinct which says that nothing can be done without being paid, which means that it is hard to accept mentally the obligation of working for someone without receiving something back. From looking closely at the Moldovan people, I observed that offering help to strangers is considered weird. So putting effort in cleaning the streets is also wild. Moreover, physical activity is considered tiring and it is known that takes a lot of time, so when someone refuses to respect a law, forcing to work for the benefit of society equals to them as wasting time in vain. This leads to regretting making the mistake and being careful next time. Taking as an example my childhood, mom used to give me household chores that I disliked if I was naughty in order to teach me good manners. In addition, prisoners should be those whose crimes are major and as a result someone had to suffer. For example, fatal car accidents, discrimination or violence are the ones who lead to negative consequences. In that cases paying a fine is unprofessional. Also, in Germany and Great Britain you are not fined for driving without drivers licence, but for producing an accident. To sum up, all lawbreakers should face the consequences but there are a lot of aspects that law enforcement officers need to take in consideration in order to make our country a safer place.