Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that living in a country without speaking a native language can lead to serious social and practical issues. In this essay, I will elaborate on why I wholeheartedly agree with this, and I believe that language barriers can create severe misunderstandings and less job opportunities. On the one hand, language barriers are more likely to trigger a variety of daily troubles. Although the ability of numerous translation apps to help people understand foreign languages, they only provide literal translation and fail to capture the cultural values involved with its meaning. Take English, for instance, “Fire away” means that you can start asking some questions and speaking. However, if you use digital translation, it will show the meaning as literally opening fire! In turn, native speakers will be misunderstood in how they want to do something negative. Therefore, speaking the local language enables individuals to understand usage and avoid unnecessary misunderstandings. On the other hand, living abroad with a fluent conversation is an irreplaceable chance which is more likely to enhance your personal career opportunity. Mastering the native language allows individuals to connect with colleagues and build a professional network effectively. Employers are more likely to hire a person who has excellent communication skills, allowing workers to collaborate with professional persons. In turn, through corporation can change different insights, fostering your work productivity and job opportunities. Therefore, having a native language is really dispensable for a person who live in a country, To conclude, I firmly believe that breaking a language barrier requires a native language. It not only avoiding unnecessary misunderstanding, but also improving a person's career opportunity.