Memorization of information by frequent repetition (rote learning) plays a role in many education systems. Does the usefulness of this method outweigh the limitations?

Recently, some people believe that the rote learning is not good method in many education system. For me, there are both pros and cons. First of all, that is the benefit. It makes us remember basic knowledge because many subjects require students to remember formulas, new words before it can be used. And it saves the time for everyone in the exams. A student who memorises multiplication tables can solve math faster and exactly in a test. Besides that, this method builds the solid foundation from basic to complicated form. When someone learns English, they have to study new words, pronunciation, grammar and gradually they can become proficient with it. However, the rote learning has many the harmful effects. Implementer can not understand a real problem. A student can memorise a lot of different formulas but they don’t how to know apply it to specific situations. The second, the rote learning takes a lot of time to study and easily forget. For instance, many students remember vocabulary for a test and forgot most of words in a few days because they rarely use them a real life. To sum up, rote learning is very good for basic knowledge and is not suitable for specific, specialized data. A balance between memorization and understanding is the best way to achieve effective learning.