Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

It is believed that scientific innovations in agriculture have always positive outcomes. While many think this way, I mostly disagree with this statement. From my point of view, farming techniques can be quite dangerous for the yield that could ultimately lead to economic and ecological challenges. Firstly, heavy scientific innovations results in profund damages towards the biodiversity. Especially, the pesticides and chemical fertilizers are ones that cause environmental degradation on soil and spreaded traces can remain on food. For instance, in Moldova, the over-application of chemicals rapidly destroys the ultra-fertile chernozem (black soil). Furtehrmore, due to these modern farming practices, over the decades, the soil is losing its organic matter, eventually causing erosion across the country’s arable lands and agricultural crops will not grow properly. Secondly, scientific and technological developments can cause financial problems for small family farms. Modern farming implies many expensive innovations, such as various agricultural tools, irrigation systems, machineries and others. To illustrate, in the Republic of Moldova there is an economic imbalance. While large agricultural conglomerates afford these overpriced technologies for their harvests, small holder farmers cannot provide all the best machineries. Moreover, small family farms resort to massive bank loans to aquire the modern tools. Wherever natural disasters happen, these heavy debts trigger bankruptcies, forcing smallholders to sell their lands to corporations. In conclusion, scientific developments in farming cannot always bring advantages. Consequently, chemicals increase yields and soil damaging and those specific agricultural tools are not affordable for many farmers.