Some people argue that parents should have a strong influence on their children’s choice of friends and life partners. Others believe that young people should make these decisions independently. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of parental influence on children’s choice of friends and life partners has become a subject of considerable debate. While some people believe that parents should have a strong influence on these decisions, others argue that young people should make such choices independently. In my opinion, the latter perspective is more convincing. This essay will discuss both sides before presenting a conclusion. There are several arguments supporting this view, but the most significant one is that parents have greater life experience and can guide their children in choosing suitable friends and partners. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that parents can protect their children from unhealthy relationships and negative influences. Therefore, these benefits clearly show why many people support this view. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend, but one of the most alarming ones is that too much parental involvement can restrict young people ’s freedom to make their own decisions. Basically, young adults should be allowed to choose their own friends and life partners because these decisions directly affect their happiness and future. Hence, it is apparent why many are against strong parental control. According to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the benefits of parental guidance are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either. In my opinion, parents should provide advice, but young people should have the final right to make these decisions independently.