Nowadays, it is easier for young people to have a credit card compared to the past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The conditions of having a credit card have become more convenient for young people in recent years, whereas banks implemented very strict rules in the past. While there are some drawbacks, the upsides of promoting credit cards to young individuals in an easy way, such as exclusive offers from supermarkets and online shops can far outweigh its downsides, such as the risk of having huge financial debts. This essay will elaborate on both sides with relevant arguments and examples. On the one hand, some supermarket chains and online stores offer considerable discounts for credit card users, while cash payers cannot access them. They collaborate with some global card companies, such as Visa and MasterCard, encouraging card users to shop at their stores by decreasing their products' prices at a noticeable level. To illustrate, Costco, which is a well-known supermarket chain, provides significant discounts and payback options for Visa holders, which is particularly useful for students who cannot afford to buy expensive food at full price. As a result, these collaborations provide considerable price advantages for young adults when they use their credit cards at partnership stores. On the other hand, having financial freedom at a young age can lead to serious debt problems. Since they can easily obtain many credit cards from different banks, such as RBC and TD, they spend too much money due to limited financial experience. For instance, banks provide a credit card limit of 1,000 CAD, enabling young adults to spend this money without any restriction. Thus, they may spend their entire limit at once and face a serious debt problem. In conclusion, although easily obtaining a credit card has some disadvantages, I firmly maintain that upsides far outweigh the risk of serious debt because a credit card provides an affordable shopping experience for young adults who have limited budgets.