The family has a great influence on children's development, but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children's life. Do you agree or disagree?

Family certainly has an enormous influence on children's development; however, some people believe that experiences outside their home have an even deeper impact on their life. I entirely agree with the previous statement, as in a lifespan, the time people spend outside their parent's house, is larger, and more impactful, then the time they spend living with family members. Certainly, the family is all a child knows in the first years of his life. The family members will be the ones teaching the child about their culture and values, shaping inevitably his beliefs and habits. Moreover, events happened during childhood, can have a deep impact on the personality of a person, especially if traumatic. For example, a divorce can be very impactful for a child, challenging his grades and behaviours in school, and sometimes, leading to dysregulated emotions and troubles with future relationships. On the other hand, I believe what matters the most in children upraising is not the family they are from but the environment they live in. If you come from a good family, that raised you with healthy values, but you live in a terrible area, the influence of the outside world will be large. For instance, at the age of 6 every child must attend school. In class, children begin to experience their own life, making friendships and meeting adults other than their parents. The people you are surrounded by, the dreams you'll have and the level of education you can receive highly depend on the environment. Moreover, external people's influence can't be ignored. Children make connections outside their house. Whether is a professor or a friend, other's people opinion will matter and will influence their life decisions. For example, a professor who cares about a child, can impact his future career decision, encouraging and advising towards a certain direction. In conclusion, while I agree family has a big role into shaping children's life, the experiences, encounters and learning from the outside world will influence their life deeper.