Today, the media portrays young people as lazy and disrespectful. Do you think this is true? Are young people today worse than their parents, or does every new generation get criticized by older people?

It is widely argued that young people is potrayed as a lazy and disrespectful generations. While some people also believe that the younger generations are worse than the older one, the rest think that older generations always have complaints over those younger than them.

Potraying youngsters of having less-manners is far from the reality. There is a significant difference between conversation style between gen z and millenials, and gen z had tendency on speaking straighforwardly, which somehow perceived as being disrespectful. Taking an example in the working force, when younger employees raise concerns about unpaid working time, it frequently perceived as negative complaints and resulted in them depicted as lazy workers.

Moreover, with a distinct style of communication, comparison between parents and their children on their social skills is hard to measure. Since they are raised in different expectations of social skills, none of them is necessarily better or worse. For instance, younger generations have better awareness of mental health, and it frequently perceived as lazy. Furthermore, newer generations do get complaints from the older generations, mainly because the altered social expectations over time. Things that weren't allowed in the previous generations is becoming more lenient for the younger people. For example, sharing gossip with parents might be considered rude several decades ago, and it is highly acceptable in current society.

In conclusion, young people should not be associated with laziness nor no manner, simply because they tend to be more critical in certain situations. Moreover, the comparison between parents and their children can't be measured, simply because they have their own style of communications. Lastly, the complaints received by younger generations mostly driven by the changes of the social expectation.