Prison is the best punishment for criminals. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often said that, offenders must be locked up in penitentiaries because the crime they have committed. I believe that prison sentences serve as an appropriate deterrent for criminal behavior.

First and foremost, we are living in modern and well civilized societies, where in country laws are deeply studied, and compared with international rules and regulations, before implementation. Public have to follow the law-and-order instructions implemented from states, whoever have failed to comply with rule book must face serious consequences. General Public often do not care much of fine payment, or community services punishment therefore often legal department have to implement strict actions. To exemplify it, in UAE majority of population is rich and they are not much bothered about payment over speeding ticket fines, therefore administrations have to enforce significant jailtime on speeding violations.

Furthermore, federal or provincial penitentiaries have systematic and well-organized structure and procedure in place for rehabilitation of prisoners. Offender’s face consequences of their wrongdoing, meanwhile rehabilitation process ensures that after they release from imprisonment, they will not repeat such mistakes again. Additionally, majority of inmates do participate in multiple activities in trades within facility which not just kept them busy and increase their skill set. For instance, in Pakistan many inmates work in textile and sports goods minor production works with jail parameters.

In conclusion, reducing the crime rate or even taking it virtually zero have to be top priority of policy makers. But people have tendency to go against the system of rules, government have to ensure that criminal are proven guilty and fast track to prisons to face the consequences and learn from their wrongdoings.