The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber-crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that the government should take control of the Internet to stop cyber-crime and make online spaces safer for users. I strongly agree with this statement because government regulation can prevent illegal activities and protect citizens from online dangers.

To begin with, many people got scammed by clicking unknown links or entering unknown websites, then entering the personal details and their money got stolen in the end. Government regulations can prevent society from this scamming situation. If government officials have power to control and track people's activities on online platforms. In addition, this could easily help governments to track criminal activities and identify them. Furthermore, granting law enforcement the power to trace suspicious online activities makes it far easier to identify, locate, and prosecute cybercriminals who would otherwise hide behind many internet protocols addresses.

In addition, social media also includes the cyber-crime issue. For instance, in this generation, large amounts of people are being targeted for bullying or getting misunderstood in social media platforms. Mostly these issues are related to teenagers and adults. Moreover, this bullying has effects on people's mental health, which can lead to serious health problems for humanity. Government officials could control the comments and post on social networks. With government help,these issues might be declining and also improve communities to have better mental health.

To summarize, I largely agree that the government should put more effort and control the internet for protecting people from cyberattacks and cybersecurity for humanity's safety in future generations.