Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effects will this have on society?

It is undeniable that from the declaration of the justice systems, numerous criminals do not stop their deviant behavior even after completing their legal punishment. Causes may vary due to personality differences, coupled with social stigma. This essay will explore the possible reasons and their influences on the civilization.

The main reason for recidivism is that imprisonment does not always address the underlying factors for committing a crime. Some prisons lack appropriate psychological diagnosis and rehabilitation programmes, specifically when it is about unusual states of personality. Thus, since humankind began to evolve, it brought considerable number of alterations in the human genome, namely harmful mutations which created countless genetic predispositions including antisocial personality disorder that leads to criminal behavior. Those genetic anomalies carry even the tiniest hereditary components inherited from our ancestors and are carved into our DNA through genetic codes, which is only possible to reshape in enhanced environmental conditions. If psychological assessment is inadequate, it becomes impossible to define a proper treatment plan for offenders, therefore resulting in exaggerated unacceptable actions. Moreover, it is highly probable that prison staff’s aggressive interaction with prisoners can lead them to imitate these attitudes and hurt people around them.

Repeated offending can have serious consequences for both individuals and society. Sticking to detrimental habits creates a cycle of criminality, in which those people continue spreading threats to public safety. A further effect of recidivism is social stigma; for instance, they are not expected to improve their dysfunctional tendencies. Consequently, former criminals believe that they cannot eradicate their maladaptive nature.

In conclusion, habitual offending is largely driven by insufficient reintegration, coupled with society’s projections for them. For this reason, it is indispensable for governments to invest in the right support systems such as rehabilitation programmes and community initiatives to curb this problem.