The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

It is an undeniable fact that western countries constitute more than 20% of overweight children over the last 10 years. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this trend and examine the possible effects of the problem.

To begin with, the crucial causes of being overweight are a sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits. A significant number of adolescents tend to have a passive lifestyle, which is largely limited to playing video games in front of a laptop or smartphones. They spend most of their time by engaging in games, instead of doing other activities, including sport and jogging. As a result of this, it can result in gaining weight. Furthermore, the majority of teenagers possess poor dietary habits, such as eating oily and fast food, consuming large portions of high-calorie meal or constant snacks. Consequently, they may suffer from obesity by means of inappropriate eating habits.

A major effect of this problem includes various health issues, say diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease. For instance, by being obese, a person’s body-fat percentage increases, the metabolism worsens and may cause a vast number of health problems. Moreover, it may have a severe effect on children’s psychological state, given that they may face bullying at school, be in depression and feel embarrassed, in the community, which leads to lack of self-confidence. Thus, the more they cannot lose weight, the more children are socially isolated and emotionally distressed.

To conclude, obesity is a big problem that affects a plethora of people, and is associated with an inactive lifestyle, eating disorders and some health obstacles nowadays.