Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

With the expansion and scale of urban areas, it is becoming increasingly common that residents do not know their neighbours these days. This essay will examine the main causes of this issue and suggest potential solutions about this.

Initially, if uncertain circumstances occur in a person's accommodation, his neighbours will not have the ability to inform him about it; to put it differently, individuals must be independent and take responsibility of themeselves in severe conditions. In addition, the majority of citizens residing in big cities work in jobs with extensive hours, the primary reason is that the city mostly contains the headquarters of hundreds of corporations. Therefore, people have negligible leisure time to meet and communicate with their neighbours. For instance, working in the financial, healthcare, or even technology sector, where average working hours occasionally exceed 70 hours a week.

Furthermore, citizens could address this problem by organising a weekly or fortnightly meeting with their neighbours; in other words, all sides must have a mutual initiative to know each other and share mobile numbers in case an unforeseen event occurs. Moreover, the government should interfere and publish a national campaign explaining the importance of neighbours. A clear example of this can be seen in Newyork, where a public campaign called Know Your Neighbour! received a widespread advocations from society members. Consequently, people started chatting with neighbours whenever it is possible and some made friendships.

In conclusion, being isolated from people living near you is a hazardous risk, this is because in unforeseen events you must take obligation. Whereas having a walk with each other or communicating could break the barrier.