The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last years. Discuss the causes and effect of this issue disturbing trend.

The number of obese young people in Western communities has exceeded 20% over the last decade. This essay will discuss the main causes of this phenomenon and propose several measures to address the issue.

In this modern world, many adolescents have become overly reliant on technological devices, which they use for educational purposes, entertainment, and communicating with their friends. As a result, they spend less time engaging in physical activities, which is one of the main reasons for the increasing rate of obesity among children. In addition, a lack of awareness about healthy eating and regular exercise can exacerbate this problem. For example, spending excessive amounts of time watching television or using electronic devices can discourage children from participating in physical activities. There are also several other contributing factors, such as the widespread consumption of fast food and soft drinks and the adoption of an unhealthy lifestyle, all of which can contribute to the growing prevalence of childhood obesity.

On the other hand, there are several effective measures that can be implemented to tackle this problem. First, health awareness should be increased among the general population, while families should encourage children to participate in physical activities from an early age. Schools and communities could also organise educational programmes and campaigns to promote healthy lifestyles. In addition, fitness clubs could provide free or subsidised memberships for children under the age of 18. Fruit and vegetables should also be made freely available in schools, while swimming could be introduced as a regular subject at the secondary-school level. In my view, these measures could significantly reduce obesity among young people and help governments address this growing public-health concern.

In conclusion, families play a major role in preventing childhood obesity by closely monitoring children's lifestyles and encouraging healthy habits. For instance, allowing children to use technology under parental supervision and limiting their screen time can help them maintain a more active lifestyle and reduce the risk of becoming overweight.