Some people think that companies should provide employees with exercise time during the day? What is your opinion on this?

It is believed that our employers should be having a mandatory time schedule alloted to working out and doing some version of exercise. In this essay, I will opine on the virtue of exercising at work and the reasons why this should be encouraged.

A common working man is going to spend on average, 8 hours per day at his workplace. That means that he will spend almost a one-third of his life between the age of 18 and 65 at his respective occupation.

Modern day life is fast. We are stressed out where stress-hormone called cortisol spikes multiple times a day in our brain causing us to have anxiety, panic attacks and affecting our work. Allowing for even light exercise can have incredible effects! It is said that doing 20 minutes of cardio exercises like walking, climbing steps or jogging, can reduce the cortisol levels and increase feel good hormones like endorphins and dopamine in our brain. This allows us to build ourselves up, literally and mentally, increasing the workplace’s overall morale.

A high morale, in return, helps the efficiency and time management of the company tasks. What task took 2 hours filled with lethargy before, can be done in 30 minutes now. This improves the productivity of the company as well as their overall profits.

What could end up costing a company a lot of lost profits and efficiency can be redeemed by allowing 20 minutes mandatory exercises for the employees through better mental health and more operational efficiency and effectiveness.