Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. What problems does this create? How could this situation be improved?

Closures from small and local groceries are considerably high due to the challenging competition with large supermarkets in that particular area. This essay will examine the issues it creates and suggest potential solutions to improve this situation.

Initially, this negatively affects the quality of life of citizens, because going to a supermarket wastes greater time due to the huge amounts of consumers, whether in requesting staff service, or even cashier queues; in other words, shopping in large supermarkets will be physically exhausting for individuals. In addition, a proportion of supermarkets will take advantage of the lack of shops and will start raising prices, which effectively means monopoly will be present in the shopping sector. For instance, the widespread of Walmart and Target in the United States resulted in the closure of approximately 30000 small shops. As a result, average vegetables and fruits prices increased by 15 per cent in the previous year because the two supermarkets are aware that consumers have no economic alternatives.

Furthermore, governments must intervene and prevent the scale of big shops; to put it differently, they should provide incentives and subsidies to small and medium shops to operate and gain revenue. Therefore, monopoly will be negligible, the primary reason being that the market share is distributed equally in a method that protects shoppers. A clear example of this can be seen in Japan, where the government responded quickly to the closure of small shops and started supporting them financially to compete with large markets.

In conclusion, consumers will suffer from monopoly and the greediness of big markets if small groceries close. State grants and support is the ideal solution to moderate prices and protect consumer's rights.