Medical professionals such as doctors and nurses from poor countries often migrate to richer countries to work. What problems arise from this situation? What measure can be taken to deal with it?

The majority of experts in the health sector such as doctors and nurses from developing economies pursue their careers in other countries for financial purposes. This essay will examine the issues this situation cause and suggest potential solutions to resolve this problem.

Initially, poor countries will face challenges in covering health services to citizens due to the lack of medical professionals; to put it differently, the the quality of life will drop drastically as doctors and nurses migrate. In addition, governments will not receive sufficient income tax from them to operate hospitals and enhance the infrastructure, which will potentially result in the closure of a large proportion of hospitals. For instance, the massive migration of doctors and nurses from India to various countries globally resulted in approximately 1220 hospital closures due to the lack of capital for operation.

Furthermore, governments should impose high fees on medical experts who work overseas for the purpose of letting them contribute to the development of the health sector in their nation. Moreover, business fascilitation is required, which means if any doctor is deciding to start a private clinic or hospital, the government should not take corporation tax in order to persuade him to stay. A clear example of this can be seen in Turkey, where clinic and health center owners do not pay taxes to the government and use that money for improving the quality of services. Consequently, thousands of Turkish doctors rejected attractive opportunities from countries like Germany and France, and decided to pursue their careers in their home country.

In conclusion, migration of health experts will result to severe financial burdens for the state, which will lead to closing various health centers. Possible measures are supporting them to open their own enterprises, and imposing a leave tax on whoever migrates.