companies permitting work from home. positive or negative development

Nowadays, a lot of companies are permitting their employees to work from home. Although, this trend might have some drawbacks like hectic home - office work balance and communication, I believe that certain benefits like energy conservation at office, home comfortability, and relaxed environment make this a positive development.

Firstly, working from home is a great advancement made by companies to acheive better work efficiency. Employees can work from their home comfortably in a relaxed environment which will improve their work efficiency and also, they can close to their loved ones at the same time. Moreover, with reduced number of physically present employees in the company, they save electricity, resources, and less manpower needed in the company which benefits them financially. For example, with less people in the building there will be low electricity usage, cleanliness and maintenance staffs can be reduced.

On the other hand, employees who prefer working from home might also have to face some communication issues and difficulty in balacing personal and work related things. With everyone working online, communication between people is completely dependent on internet and cell reception which is not accessible at every place, this could lead to delayed communication. Furthermore, when at home employees will have to attend to personal chores and also manage work at the same time which can be difficult. Both of these issues could be managed by proper communication and by arranging a better internet connections.

In conclusion, Although work from home might have some drawbacks in terms of commuication and work balance, I believe that energy conservation and comfortable environment make work from a positive development.