The best way to understand other cultures is to work for a multinational organisation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the most effective way of understanding different cultures is by working for a multinational organisation. Although this can be a good approach, I believe that people choose to work in a particular place for other reasons, and that education and travelling are more effective ways of learning about different societies.

People generally choose to work for a particular organisation for reasons other than learning about different societies. Most individuals work to achieve their career goals, earn a good salary, and fulfil their professional ambitions rather than to learn about unrelated subjects. Therefore, learning about different traditions and ways of life is more likely to be an additional benefit than a priority for most employees. Moreover, co-workers may not always discuss their backgrounds, as they may not have a strong interest in learning about each other. For example, many fresh graduates in Saudi Arabia choose multinational organisations to build a strong CV and gain better career opportunities because of their good reputation.

Education and travelling can provide people with more opportunities to learn about other societies. Through books, documentaries, reliable sources, and guided tours, individuals can learn about the history, traditions, and lifestyles of different communities in greater depth. In contrast, employees may not have enough time to explore these aspects because of their work and personal responsibilities. Travellers, however, usually have more time and motivation to learn about the countries they visit. For example, streaming platforms such as Netflix and Amazon Prime offer documentaries about different traditions and lifestyles, allowing people to gain insight into other societies from home. Therefore, I believe this approach is not enough on its own and learning from other sources and different activities is more effective.

In conclusion, although working for a multinational organisation can expose people to different backgrounds, I believe that travelling and educating oneself through books and documentaries are more effective ways of understanding them. This is because people generally work to achieve professional goals, whereas travelling and education allow individuals to dedicate more time to learning about other societies.