In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Nowadays, some professional athletes are more likely to utilize banned substances, like steroids to enhance their sport performance. This phenomenon happened because it’s easier to win using steroids, and in order to prevent this, athletes should get random drug test more frequently.

The majority of athletes have a desire to be exceptional at their sport and ultimately, dominate the competition – this is why they opt to use enhanced drugs. Each athlete will do anything to gain a competitive advantage over their competitors – it doesn’t matter how small that advantage is. This is due to the fact that at the professional levels, the gap between each athlete is not that drastic. Hence, steroids and similar substances provide a slight but profound impact for athletes ’ performance. For instance, in the 2000s, the greatest cyclist of all time tested positive for enhancing drugs, resulting in a worldwide scandal. Afterwards, people started to question the validity of his previous achievements.

In order to prevent similar events from happening, athletes from any professional sports should receive more random drug tests or blood work. One of the most effective ways to know whether a person is using banned substances is by getting their blood tested, as a result, doctors can find out what chemicals are in their blood. If sport associations start enforcing this procedure at a more frequent rate, athletes will have less opportunities to inject themselves with these illicit drugs, hence solving this problem. For example, this process is well-known among MMA athletes. Because of the sport’s nature, it’s life-threatening for the opponents if athletes decided to use steroids. That’s why it’s normal for athletes to get drug tested prior to a match or during their recovery time.

In conclusion, because of the desire to win and dominate their sports, athletes will not hesitate to use any tactics, including banned substances. Therefore, they should undergo the random drug testing procedure more often.